Bruce D. and 7C

I am trying something radical with the 7 of Cups!  I don’t want to say here though because I am feeling superstitious, that if I say what it is it will get jinxed.  Isn’t that funny? 

I started on that last night and then I felt so good and relaxed all of a sudden I got inspired by the old dejected version that was sitting there, now splashed with paint.   I scrubbed and erased and played with it for awhile.  I ended up completely erasing the wolf and putting him in profile with a lightning bolt down the side of his face.  What will I do with it?  I don’t know!  I will keep working on it for sure though.  i am actually enjoying it now that the pressure is off.

This is a little off topic, but not long ago I was thinking that the only thing missing from this tarot thing was music.  There is art, and religion/mysticism, words, numbers, etc. but no music!  It’s a silent little thing really.  I really think music has an ability to speak to different parts of our consciousness. 

My wish must have been heard because I was putting together a playlist of various music and saw something by Bruce Dickinson called The Tower, and added it, of course.  If you aren’t familiar, he was the vocalist for Iron Maiden a heavy metal band very popular in the 80’s.  So, the song comes on and I am off in another world somewhere working on the 7C and I start catching little keywords like 12, lovers, hanged man, fool, and I snap out of it and realize it’s talking about tarot!  I was really excited about it.  I know, I am easily pleased, lol.  So, I hunt down his website later and on the front is a big William Blake painting and I LOVE Blake.  In response I dropped him an email saying how cool I thought it all was.  Isn’t it great you can do that these days?  I pretty much forgot about it then got an email from this radio show telling me to listen.  I did, and Bruce has a radio show and he read my email on the air!  AND he prefaced it by playing a song by the band Tarot.  Isn’t that cool???  A fine moment for me indeed!

Upon further digging I realize that in 1998 he came out with a whole album named The Chemical Wedding (and just released a movie of the same title though I think the subject matter is a lot different, it is about Aleister Crowley!).  This album is all about the writings of William Blake and from what I can tell his mythology.  Love it!   I’ve just started delving into it, but I listened to it all night while I worked on the 7C in its various forms <g>.  It was awesome to have the music as well.

I have to quickly apologize for not knowing this existed, at one time I definitely would have, but as I have mentioned before, losing my music dream was so traumatic I stopped being involved in music almost completely since then and am totally out of the loop, even for 10 year old records.  Note, its the same age as The Mary-el.

Another thing I was working on yesterday was the planetary correspondences which always, always drives me nuts.  I was sitting in the carpool lane waiting to pick up Rex (blub, blub, miss him) and I forgot to bring a book so I took out a pen and paper and started mucking around with numbers and a planetary order just came to me, then I put it together with the days of the week which are based on Germanic Gods which were themselves based on the planets and Voila!  I had an arrangement.  Developing it further, and double checking some things and sources I have to come to the conclusion, a final conclusion I think, that there is no satisfactory, perfect way to attribute the planets with the tarot in any consistent order, i mean, you have to either re-arrange tarot or re-arrange the order of planets.  The elements too, I have never found a ‘perfect’ way to attribute them to the major arcana.  I will default to the Golden Dawn arrangement but I don’t find that perfect either.  All this shows to me is that things are subtle and complex.  I think one of the reasons tarot is so intriguing is because the individual cards , as they are placed in the tarot order, are able to reflect different systems placed over them.  Like, one card might have both watery and firey and plutonian and venusian and whatever else things you can think of.  So you can take the sequence of tarot, lay over it any system in its natural order and the symbols of tarot are ambiguous enough to fit, with a little work.

But, maybe it is time to move on from that.  Tarot has some ambiguity, but there are also some specific, I think, archetypal arrows that can be studied, as a system onto itself.  A truth of its own that is not tied to correspondences.  Image/word/number.  And not to mention the effect it has on the mind of the reader and querant.   A spiritual communication device.

On the homefront, my mom came to visit and stayed a few days.  We had a good time.  I also got to see my aunt and cousins and their beautiful children.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bruce D. and 7C

  1. Ian says:

    This is my Bruce Dickinson song, which I think fits 7 of Cups.

    For too long now
    There were secrets in my mind
    For too long now
    There were things I should have said
    In the darkness
    I was stumbling for the door
    To find a reason
    To find the time, the place, the hour

    Waiting for the winter sun
    And the cold light of day
    The misty ghosts of childhood fears
    The pressure is building
    And I can’t stay away

    I throw myself into the sea
    Release the wave
    Let it wash over me
    To face the fear
    I once believed
    The tears of the dragon
    For you and for me

    Where I was
    I had wings that couldn’t fly
    Where I was
    I had tears I couldn’t cry
    My emotions
    Frozen in an icy lake
    I couldn’t feel them
    Until the ice began to break

    I have no power over this
    You know I’m afraid
    The walls I built are crumbling
    The water is moving
    I’m slipping away

    I throw myself into the sea
    Release the wave
    Let it wash over me
    To face the fear
    I once believed
    The tears of the dragon
    For you and for me

    Slowly I awake
    Slowly I rise
    The walls I built are crumbling
    The water is moving
    I’m slipping away

    I throw myself into the sea
    Release the wave
    Let it wash over me
    To face the fear
    I once believed
    The tears of the dragon
    For you and for me

    Love,
    Ian

  2. Tarotsmith says:

    Yes! Tears of the Dragon!!
    I have been listening to this a lot and never even thought for a second it had anything to do with the 7C!! Isn’t it funny how you can be so oblivious to the obvious? Now that you point it out I totally see it.
    Not just the obvious emotional aspect but anything rising and emerging from the subconscious or the dreamworld or the abyss or whatever that magical place is.
    I found this on youtube if anyone reading this isn’t familiar with this song:

    I’ve been loving Bruce lately!!! He looks hauntingly similar to my ex-husband though. Maybe my ex was his evil twin!

    Thank you Ian.

    Marie

  3. Tarotsmith says:

    Here’s a video for “The Tower”
    Lots of tarot references, in a campy sort of way.

Leave a Reply

