7 of Cups complete

The radical idea worked out!  I basically sat down with a prepared board and just went for it.  It felt great!  I really like how it came out.  I felt like I was calligraphy or Chinese brush painting at first and that is about the consistency of the paint I was using WITH stinky, toxic, wonderful, odoriferous turpentine from my beloved pine and fabulously poisonous cadmiums and nary a fan blade turned nor a widow sill creaked.  Bliss!

7 of Cups

At one point I had a lot more detail in the water and moon and sky but brushed it out; it seemed to call for simplicity.  Then I had the brush in my hand to begin smoothing over some of the rough edges of the wolf but I looked at it and said, no, leave it as it is.  It was done.

I have a lot still to write about this card but its late and I’m tired.  It has been a hectic week.  So far I am really happy with it.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7 of Cups complete

  1. Ian says:

    Holy Ghost, it is better!

    The moon provides the phantasmagoric aspect of the 7 of Cups, while the dark wolf contrasts in sharper yet subtler way the 7 of Wands, which stares at you, face to face – this wolf, on the other hand, is watching over but not completely facing you.

    Also, this wolf looks a bit tired, tired of living, of feeling.

    (or maybe I’m just projecting too much on the card).

    Of course, I do feel as if I’m living it.

    Love,
    Ian

  2. Hi Marie! This is great, for your blog like it very much. Easy to read, eye-catching, good colors. And I just love your new Seven of Cups.

    I posted it on Living Tarot, so if you want to, come talk to us. The new people would love to hear from you, and so would the long-timers. Bravo!

  3. Tarotsmith says:

    Hi Ferol, how are ya?
    Thanks!
    I’ll have to go check out the meetup message board, it will be good to *see* you guys! I’ve been a bit hermitish lately!
    Marie

  4. Tarotsmith says:

    Hi Ian,
    I am glad you like it! Yes this image seems highly able to provoke projection, as it should I suppose! My husband found it disturbing and felt a kinship with it and thought it was very anti-hero. I find it really peaceful.
    I didn’t realize it until now but the sideways look at this creature is the same way you woud communicate with him -sideways through the subconscious where the wolf in the 7 of wands would be more direct and conscious. I’m thinking you could learn a lot about someone by asking them what they see in this card. I’m going to try it!
    I feel like I am living it too, in oh so many ways.
    Marie

Leave a Reply

