Moving Earth

I’m dying to work on the 7D but things just aren’t working out!  It’s ok though, I am coming to terms with the ssssslllllllooooooooowwwwwwwww nature of this process.

The last time I worked on it, oh sometime last week, I came across an anomaly.  I was working on the 7 coins and the symbols to put on them when it occurred to me, hey!  what about Adam and Eve (as symbols, of course)?  Now, the Hebrew spelling for Eve is Heh Vav Heh, which is just a Yod short of the tetragrammaton, the 4 letter name of God.  The conflict for me comes from the 3 letters being ones I would associate with Air, Water and Earth.  BUT the 3 prime elements would be Fire, Air, Water and earth is made from a combination of those – so how do you get a proper trinity without Fire?  Drove me wild! 

I went into a frenzy of Kabbalah, Hebrew and numerology and actually came up with some really cool stuff and some interesting ideas which brought me back to the planets and elements and, gosh, all kinds of stuff.

But then I came to my senses and asked myself what the hell I was doing?   I was allowing myself to get all distracted by these details.  What do all of these things have in common?  They all, no matter how occult, or secret, or obscure or profound or complicated, resemble important natural phenomenon.  Nature.  The things that are important to us as humans, our mother and father, children, food and drink, safety, the sun and moon and the movement of the stars, the earth and sea, wind and fire, our movement about and control over or lack thereof, our environment. 

In many ways I think all of these symbols of mysticism are exactly like math, they are abstractions of very real things but when you take out the….organicness and familiarity of them, it is easier to see them in a non biased way and see how they interact and relate.  And I think the subconscious doesn’t distinguish much, if t all, between real and symbol – so it is a way to examine the awesomeness of life and the universe in a very small microcosmic way, safely, on a piece of paper.

And so I remembered what was really important, an put down the pencil, and looked out the window at the real thing.

P.S. Did you notice there was a decent size eartquake in CA the other day?  I can think of nothing better to illustrate the idea of 7 of Disks than moving earth, an earthquake.  It happened very near my old stomping grounds.  I actually rented an apartment in that city once though changed my mind at the last minute.  Its within a few miles of where I grew up, though.  My home!  I have to admit, I miss it.  Never will go back there though for a multitude of reasons, but I do miss it.

This entry was posted in Tarot. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moving Earth

  1. Ian says:

    Exactly, Marie! Remember that you’re creating a whole new paradigm here, not just inheriting one – look at your 10C, for instance. So, if it fits you and you alone, go ahead – if not, drop it.

    But if you still want to do the Adam & Eve thing, well, you have seven coins: that’s 3 for Eve (Heh Vau Heh), three for Adam (Aleph Daleth Mem) and the 7th one for Yod. That works for Eve, though I don’t know what that would do for Adam…

    Love,
    Ian

  2. Tarotsmyth says:

    Yes, that was one of the problems, ADM. I was hoping to find a 3 letter word for the trinity to counter YHVH but couldn’t find one that worked the way I wanted and really it shouldn’t be something you have to work on, it should be an easy and natural fit, I think.
    It’s ok though, I actually think the whole figure on the card is YHVH!

    I finally opted to just stick to basics and put the planetary symbols on the coins. Perhaps that is the grounding element of this card – not to worship symbols but recognize the simple truths the symbols symbolize.

    I find it rally exciting to have a Demiurge on this card! There at the end of the 7s there is something complete and then moving into the 8s is something more, more subtle. I can’t wait.

  3. Ian says:

    Hmm… let’s see.

    A demiurge; only seven, classic planets from astrology; Thoth Tarot’s Failure; the patient and satisfied person at Waite-Smith’s 7 of Pentacles; Saturn at Taurus; Memory… all mean to me, in a certain sense, a self contained universe, not needing to look or go Beyond – it is the little world that the guy from Waite-Smith’s 2 of Wands is holding. Finding and realizing the whole meaning of what you already have, but also warning that this is not all of it, that there is more of you out there, outside the world the Demiurge has created, beyond time, far stars, oneself.

    It’s a frontier, not a limit.

    Of course, I’ll have to see the card, but how stray or right am I, Marie?

    Love,
    Ian

  4. Tarotsmith says:

    Hi Ian,
    I don’t think there is any right or wrong, really, but our ideas do fit with mine on this card.
    I really don’t like the GD word ‘Failure’ for this. I’m quoting from Lon Milo Duquette’s “Understanding Aleister Crowley’s Thoth Tarot” here, page 265:

    ‘Netzach, the sphere of dreamy-eyed prima donna Venus has, as Crowley puts it, “its customary enfeebling effect”.’

    Excuse me????

    Maybe it was a personal issue, some subjugation of his anima, or even a sarcastic sense of humor that made him say this. I disagree, I like to think of all of the sephiroth or even aspects of our self being pwerful and meaningful.

    But that wasn’t the crux of your analysis! I’ve been thinking a lot about Urizen, Blake’s creator god who wasn’t necessarily nice or transcendent and from what I know Blake always enclosed him in a bubble of sorts, a limit or boundary and I think that fits very well with what you are saying.

    I have Ed Buryn’s William Blake tarot, I think I will read over the book in the next few days to see what kind of insights he has on it.

    What is beyond the 7? The 8! Time to answer the riddle of the Sphynx! The gateway to what lies beyond and the answer is in knowing yourself honestly, truthfully. At least that is how I see it at this point.

Leave a Reply

