Dreams of Wolves and Ravens

 I had a few very strange dreams last night (now the night before, I am finishing this post the next day).  In the first there was a spirit so I did a ritual and brought it partly to manifestation.  It was a rottweiler named Sieg Heil (apologies to any Germans who may read this or anyone else it may offend!!) .  The only other people who could see him were children and babies and then other animals could as well.  At first I thought he was great, a beautiful animal and gentle with me but very protective – I especially remember thinking that.  Something started to go wrong when he ‘covered’ Haiku.  I had to pull him off.  He continued to get more and more aggressive but I couldn’t seem to come to grips with it, I still thought he was nice until he finally threw me off a balcony into a pit.  I tried to grab a ledge but he pried my fingers off and I fell.

 

 The second dream was that someone close to me came into my house.  I had all of these feathers I had collected, owl, hawk, crow, etc..  She walked up to them and grabbed a handful and started to leave.  I said, “Are you taking those?”  She said she was.  I said “No, you aren’t”.  She got very angry, said she was going to make a painting with them and needed them and what did I need them for anyway.

 

Now that I’ve had a day to think about them, both dreams relate to the cards I am working on.  The first has the black and white wolves/dogs and the second has the, attempted anyway, theft of a feather, or some symbol of a precious piece of nature. 

Where is the 4th, the 7 of Disks?  Just a guess here, but I think it is I, the observer, from the point of view of God. 

I am looking at the 2 dogs as something I need to control and balance rather than it being me and I am the one being stolen from rather than the thief.  I had this thought a while back when I first started seeing the demiurge for the 7 of Disks;  the 7 of Pentacles in the Rider Waite, rather than a man looking at his hard toiled for garden, is it God looking at his creation?   Well, we are on the 7th day aren’t we?  There on the 7th day in the 4th house, pentacles, we have God resting, looking at his work and seeing that it is good.  Do you think Pamela did that intentionally?  I didn’t do it intentionally but I had her lead to follow, my subconscious may have understood that card easily all along.

 

I do realize that I have gotten a bit off track from the raven, Memory!  They could be one and the same, I suppose but I wonder if it would be better to have 2 ravens on the 7 of Swords since the 7 of Disks appears to be Odin himself.  Let me look for that poem about the ravens…

The whole world wide, every day,
fly Huginn and Muninn;
I worry lest Huginn should fall in flight,
yet more I fear for Muninn.
What does it mean?  I can only guess!  Huginn is thought and Muninn is memory.  So each day Odin sees and remembers everything that happens in the world.  He worries that there will be something he doesn’t see but he REALLY worries he won’t remember something.

So……I have to ask, is the physical world the collected memory of God?  And does that memory mistake itself for THE God?  That is somewhat the definition of demiurge isn’t it?  A creator God but not the transcendent God?  And does that make Odin really a transcendent God…..or at least a symbol of one?  You could replace Odin with any God and I believe the meaning would be the same.

 

I am so happy today is painting day!!!  I got the board all prepared and my first wash on last night and by tonight I can go to work!!!  I can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dreams of Wolves and Ravens

  1. Ian says:

    First off, my card of the day is 7 of Disks (see your daily personal card at http://www.geocities.com/Paris/2110/).

    Second – the who, what, where, why? Wow, that was totally mind-blowing; and I totally agree. It’s like I needed your explanation to see what the card is all about.

    Also (to try and add something instead of fan-drooling all over the place), we have more than just memories but are only aware of what we remember. When Memory is a limit and not a frontier, the we-as-demiurges have built a prison, a Failure. Do not mistake the Demiurge for God, do not mistake the Already Known and Lived with Everything while, on the other hand, what you already have IS sacred, so better love, treasure notice it!

    Wow. Totally get it now. I needed to hear (read) that. I see why I’m living this card nowadays.

    Love,
    Ian

  2. Ian says:

    Oh, crap!

    I had already posted here and now I see that I didn’t submit it! Damn.

    Well, it had something to do with the fact that regardless of what we have, we’re only aware of what we remember – Memory. Also…

    ARGH! I forgot about the rest.

    It says a lot about the value of what we have (oh, right, that was it), so we better love and treasure it. Memory is a trap but also who we are as far. Let’s value it and keep moving forward.

    …I had written it better =(

    Love,
    Ian

  3. Tallierae says:

    Ravens and wolves are friends. Well maybe. I don’t know if this is just a legend or partially credible old timer talk but I have heard that in the dead of winter when the ravens got hungry they would lead a pack of wolves to a herd of deer. The wolves would get a meal and the crows would get the leftovers. Teamwork.

    What I really wanted to say about your post is that the best way i have found to describe what I believe about god is to say,”we are dreams of love in the mind of god.” As near as I can figure we are just dreams, thoughts, memories that maybe even get worn out in the retelling.

    I’m German by the way and had a Rottweiler friend long ago. That dog was a leaner, would knock you right down by leaning on you. He did it for comfort – the leaning, not the knocking down. His power alone was frightening but something that was so powerful that needed ME for comfort just didn’t make sense, felt kinda wrong. Anyway. I’m not offended. Well not anymore than your usual German in that we tend to be offended quite a lot of the time.

    Happy painting!
    Tal

  4. Tarotsmith says:

    I hate it when that happens Ian! Ah well. I can’t wait to see how this card works within readings, it should be interesting. You are right though, maybe the failure is in allowing yourself to be imprisoned by your own memories rather than seeing things as they truly are, or being open to the possibility that there is more than one narrow truth. But even th faiure or prison can be seen in ore way than one, , epecially if it creates the beautiful diversity of this world.

  5. Tarotsmith says:

    Hi Tal,

    I’ve heard stories about ravens and wolves hunting together many times, I think it’s true!
    Here is an article about ravens and wolves in Yellowstone park:
    http://fwp.mt.gov/news/article_4663.aspx
    Very interesting!

    Marie

Leave a Reply

