8 of Swords Final Sketch

8sfinalsketch1

We have a final sketch!  Today my job is to prep a board, mount it, get it all covered in white goop, roll it with a rubbery thingy, then let the whole thing dry up good……and tomorrow………I…paaaaaaiiiinnnnnttttt  <big grin>

Oh how I love to paint.  It almost brings a tear to the eye.

So there it is.  See the little Magician in the other tower?   I got a little too bold with the Babylon and Jerusalem, so I wil try to knock them back some when I apply color.

Off to work!

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 8 of Swords Final Sketch

  1. Ian says:

    What is keeping us from opening the gate and go visit the Sage (it doesn’t look like a Magician/Mage to me)? Nothing! Just realizing that the gate is not closed and thinking of doing it!

    Love it, as usual, even though I’m not sure how it reflects me now. Probably, this card is more an advice than ~mere~ reflection.

    Love,
    Ian

  2. Tarotsmith says:

    The way it has been really manifesting with me is in role reversals. I have been finding myself in all of these positions that are the exact opposite of what I once believed and it is giving me a more complete outook I feel, and maybe eads to more understanding, tolerance and less judgment.

    I feel like the 8s are a sort of fulfillment of the Magician, the 1.

  3. Ian says:

    What are 9s and 10s, then?

  4. Tarotsmith says:

    The way I am looking at it is to see the number as a thing in itself and not as just a linear progression.

    8 can be 4 + 4, each 4 being a tower or pillar, one black and one white and all that those mean including each of the 2 lobes of the analemma, the path of the sun through the seasons and the symbol for infinity which has become associated with the Magician (and the Strength card and also the scales of Libra!)

    The Magician is the master of the 4, master of the 4 elements and a link between what is above and what is below,

    So I see this as a completion of the 2 towers over which the magician is master.

    Frankly, I am not sure about
    the 9s yet as I have not yet done them 🙂

    The 10s are the same as the 1s as each are a complete system as you would see in Kether and Malkuth. Kether is everything as one, Malkuth is everything as 10. The same thing with a different point of view.

    This is just one of, I’m sure, many ways to see the 8 though! I see a lot of things in the 8 this is just the strongest to me.

    In a linear pattern, coming after 7 and before 9 I see it as Cheth, a gate or fence between our manifest universe and what is transcendent. A ladder to heaven. At least the space between the 7 and 8. The 8, 9 and 10 are the supernal triad, if you start from the bottom and move upwards. It is the membrane between what is visible an knowable and what is mysterious.

Leave a Reply

