The Living Gates of Strength and Justice

8dsketch5

 

Knowing is not enough; we must apply.
Willing is not enough we must do. – Goethe

I am really loving this set of cards.  Everything about it is fulfilling and completing, and maybe even a little bittersweet.

Maybe I wrote this before, maybe more than once, but let me say that Michael is the angel traditionally associated with Justice and Ariel is the Lion of God, making him the symbol of Strength, or Courage, or Heart.  Together they are the 8 and the 11. 

Ever notice how similar an 8 and an 11 is?  I am starting to wonder if the whole 8/11 switch isn’t somewhat moot.  Oh sure, you could think of why one lion would be good on one side or one lion better on the other, why Boaz is here and Jachin there, or why one side is white and one side black, but in perhaps they are 2 sides of the same coin, and they only differ by the way you are going.

What are they they gate-ways to?  The 9 and the 10, of course!  One is the end, the 9 (the last original number in our reckoning), and one is the beginning, the 10 (1+0=1).  One is the complete individual, and one is the womb of the Goddess Fortuna, or her loving body, our earth, our earthly reality.

Either way, once you look into the dark mirror of the 8 and/or the 11, you are forever changed and cannot ,go back to what you once were; be it a man becoming a god or a god becoming a man.

I notice there is an upside down Vav that has developed between the lions.  It was unintentional (consciously) but I feel it has meaning, but I’m not 100% clear on what that is yet.  I feel that this whole image is one of a complete cycle of creation, from the star, which is perhaps a Yod, through the Vav, through the Fires of the Lions of the Gate, Justice and Strength give way to one of the most humble and innocent of creatures, a lamb, who himself sits on the black earth squared to relate it to 4.

I love it.

I don’t find the lions threatening at all.  And I don’t find the lamb fearful.

 Earlier this week I ran across some excerpts from a book called “The Lion of Boaz-Jachin and Jachin-Boaz” by Russell Hoban.  I have been trying desperately to find it again but failing!  It was so appropriate for this!  I must get the book ASAP.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

