Eye of God

tarotyear2

(You should be able to click on this and make it bigger. My apologies that there are no card numbers or titles.)

One of the coolest things about being nearly done is that I can lay out the cards in all of these different arrangements.  That is really where I get a glimpse of the magic within them.  Even mine, which are non-traditional, can be arranged in so many different ways – any way you can think of, and surprising things will happen, surprising similarities between the images, colors, shapes.  It really blows me away all the time.  I would like to think it is because the reflect a base truth and within that truth everything is connected.   So it isn’t any great thing I have done to make these images make magic, it is the symbols themselves which are truthful and interacting truthfully.

Last night I wanted to set down an arrangement of the minor arcana around the year.  With 52 weeks in a year I could assign one card per week and then with the extra 4, the Kings, I assigned them to the seasons – thus the King of Wands is Summer, King of Swords is Spring, King of Disks is Fall, and King of Cups is Winter.  I have been tossing this around in my head for awhile and there are different ways to go about this, and different countries calculate the seasons different etc. 

This goes by Summer being the hottest quarter of the year, crowned by the longest day, the Summer Solstice, and as described in the Sepher Yetzirah, not because I give it complete authority but because it makes sense to me,  ascribed this season to Fire and the letter Shin. 

Winter is the coldest quarter of the year, crowned by the longest night, the Winter Solstice.  It is Water, Mem.

The next 2 seasons are these that lie between the coldest and the hottest, Spring and Fall.  Both are Alef.  Shamash, if you were to travel around the wheel.

Using this as a guide, each season starts on a cross quarter day, and the middle of the season is the solstices and equinoxes. 

Each season can be divided into 13 weeks and each card gets a week to itself. 

So, for example, Spring would begin on February 3, this year, the cross-quarter day, and end on 5/5.   Since Swords is Air and Spring, the first card for the first week is the Ace of Swords.  the second week is the 2 of Swords and so on, until we reach the Queen of Swords (fitting as 13 is death).  The King is in the middle for the season.

This goes around for the whole year.

I love that when you do this the 7s are the cards that fall over the solstices and equinoxes!   Thy are the peak of the cards, its awesome I think!

 

Then once I did all of that I put the major arcana there.  This is just play at this point, mind you.  I put the major arcana with the number it belongs to , 1-13.  I I could put 4 sets of major arcana I would have had them circling the whole wheel but I didn’t so they are on Spring only here.   It starts with the Magician and ends with Death.

I put the World card smack in the middle.  I put the Fool wandering around the outside edges. 

Then there is the cards 14 – 20.  I noticed that they resembled the days of the week.  You see them arranged thusly:

 

Sunday – The Sun – XIX

Monday – The Moon – XVIII

Tuesday – Tyr – Mars -War – Judgment XX

Wednesday – Woden/Odin – Mercury – Temperance XIV

Thursday – Thor – Jupiter – XVI The Tower (note the lightning – Thor!)

Friday – Freya – Venus – XVII The Star (wooo hooo!)

Saturday – Saturn- The Devil XV

There ya go!

I’ll eventually try to do a decent chart of all of this, or whatever way I decide to arrange it.

I didn’t get a chance to work on the sketch last night, we had a bit of an extended family crisis.  I will be going over tonight though, to make up for it.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

