8 of Cups IX

8csketch9

That is tonight’s work.  (this looks a little distorted, oh well).

My thoughts have been all over the place lately.  And, for the last few days I have had this awful sinking feeling, that there is something not right, something I am missing but I don’t know what it is.  Something I am missing.  It’s bugging the hell out of me.

I have been having a lot of impressions not just of this card but of a lot of cards – The Magician, The High Priestess, The Empress(who has been a mystery to me lately), the Knights, the Queens, the Kings.  It’s really a great stage in the creation of this deck where I am able to look at all the cards I have done in the past and see how my understanding of them have evolved.  I really, really, look forward to having all the paintings done, and sitting down to re-examine each one in detail. 

So Sophie saw this image yesterday and she immediately started talking about how the child killed the lion.  Different points of view! 

As I was working on it last night a phrase came to mind in that odd intuitive way – “Never love something so much that you are unable to cast it in shadow”. 

That means to me that you should never be so blinded by love or the beauty of something or someone that you wont believe, or know their dark side. or acknowledge the existence of their dark side.  Or conversely that you should never be so blinded by somethings ugliness that you don’t acknowledge the existence of it’s divine nature.  I almost find that thought horrifying as I can think of many, many ugly things in this world that I don’t want to look at as having any good in them.  That’s one of those things where I feel that I almost need to separate myself, say, this part of me that has to survive in this real world will look at it one way and this part of me will rise above…judgment I guess.

 

The other is more subtle.  I am trying to think of how it could come across in a reading and this image could certainly come across as a wolf in sheep’s clothing, or a sheep in wolfs clothing; I would like to think too that it could be just a recognition that everything contains some sheep and some wolf and both sheep and wolves have a place on this good, spectacular, symmetrically perfect earth.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

