8 of Wands Sketch III

8wandssketch4

 

I just realized that I never uploaded the latest sketch of the 8 of Wands. 

I have been a little distracted; I have been tying together all of the associations I have been working on between the tarot and the Hebrew alphabet and the zodiac, the planets, the elements, etc.  After I finished it I spent some time writing down why I chose each association.  Really, these things are so subjective.  I went back and compared it to the Golden Dawn associations, which seemed nonsensical to me long ago, and now they are pretty close.  Obviously it comes from the same source material – the Sepher Yetzirah.  They (and I mean by that Crowley and Waite and the GD in general) do some switching around and balancing out mostly around the Libra Leo situation.  The biggest difference is that they are shifted one off with the Fool in Aleph where I decided to put the Magician in Aleph.  It makes for some interesting differences, the most interesting to me is that the High Priestess is associated with the Sun (not the Sun card), which is the exact opposite of what we usually think of her as being very lunar, and the feminine yin energy all together.  The blues and whites, the secret knowledge, the water and 2 columns as opposed to the singularity of the Sun.   BUT, if you think of the Papess from the tarot decks of old, you find a feminine representation of a traditionally male station.  I have to wonder just how much of that kind of thought comes from our patriarchal culture in which our modern tarot evolved.  I could go on quite a long time about this but will leave it there. 

Let me see if I can work up an abbreviated version of the chart:

Alef

Ox

Magician

Air/Uranus

1

Bet

House

High Priestess

Sun

2

Gimel

Camel

Empress

Moon

3

Dalet

Door

Emperor

Mars

4

He

Window

Hierophant

Aries

5

Vau

Nail

Lovers

Taurus

6

Zayin

Sword

Chariot

Gemini

7

Chet

Fence

Justice

Cancer

8

Teth

Serpent

Hermit

Leo

9

Yod

Hand

Wheel

Virgo

10

Kaph

Palm of Hand

Strength

Mercury

11

Lamed

Staff

Hanged Man

Libra

12

Mem

Water

Death

Water/Neptune

13

Nun

Fish

Temperance

Scorpio

14

Samekh

Support

Devil

Sagittarius

15

Ayin

Eye

Tower

Capricorn

16

Pe

Mouth

Star

Jupiter

17

Tzaddi

Fish Hook

Moon

Aquarius

18

Qoph

Eye of Needle

Sun

Pisces

19

Resh

Head

Judgment

Venus

20

Shin

Tooth

World

Fire/Earth (the planet)

21

Tau

Cross/mark

Fool

Saturn

22

My main goal in doing this is so I have a reference point for some other things I am working on, like assigning the minor arcana to weeks of the year.   If you will notice above the sequence of zodiac begins with Aries.  Common enough, but it gives me a solid place to start which is at the vernal equinox which falls in Aries.    Anyway, after researching and weighing what I thought was most important, which is the numerology of the major arcana and each one embodying its number, this is the best system and a place to anchor other systems which might be difficult otherwise.

Back to the 8 of Wands.  I’m not totally sure  like this.  There’s a few different ways I can go with it and I think I will try them out and see what happens.  This is like a direct opposite of the 8 of Cups but I feel its missing  -stuff-.  I don’t know, it’s still early.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 8 of Wands Sketch III

  1. Anarkali says:

    Brave of you to go against the GD grain with these attributions. I think there is a French/’Continental’ tradition that also takes the order you are using- is that right? I really like most of what you’ve given us so far, and I *love* female representations of the sun. It seems so much more natural up here in Northern Europe, where sunshine is as welcome and nourishing as a mother’s smile…

  2. Tarotsmith says:

    Yes, Eliphas Levi associated them Magician=Aleph. I am not sure who first changed it to Fool=Aleph. I know Crowley mentions in one of his books that the Fool had been restored to it’s natural order at the start of the number sequence but I’m not sure if he was the first – perhaps Mathers. Before then I believe it was associated with Shin, Fire, which is where I am placing the World.

    I do think a lot about the male and female-ness of the traditional associations and sometimes I think there is equally valid variations, I mean, of course there are, but maybe aleph/fool is more aligned with a male POV and aleph/magician is more aligned with a female POV. I do think the sexes are different and have different goals in life at least on some level.

    As far as deviating from the GD model, I know! Sometimes I wonder if I’m crazy! But, I don’t think anyone has a more authoritative line on spirituality than anyone else, we are all equally powerful creatures and I am not going to let anyone be the boss of me on this, I will report what I think is best. People will just have to decide if it works for them or not, if not there are plenty of GD based decks out there to choose from. Also, none of this is really built into my images, I think they are more ambiguous and hopefully flexible enough to accommodate more than one system!

    I love female representations of the Sun too:)

Leave a Reply

