8 of Wands VI

8wandssketch81

First, I thought you might want to know that I have a deck up on ebay – http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&item=270352461187

The image above isn’t what I did the last session but the session before (sorry I haven’t been writing, very busy!) .  Since this I have transferred the sketch to the good paper and I’m going to start the final sketch.  All I do is put the rough sketch on a light table and cover it with the new paper and trace the image. 

If you are like me you will notice a few oddities in the above image.  First there is the hands, rather, one hand one paw.  I thought long and hard about which he should have and settled on hands but the left one flat out refused.  Alternately the right one refused to be a paw.  So we have one of each.   The other thing is the snake I finally got in there.  Ok, when I first drew it I had the neck and head dangling straight down (I would use the word dangling lol)  and at some point , backing up and looking at the whole composition, I realized, oh my god it looks like a giant penis!  Then much later I dropped the scale from the other eye and realized the two loops of the snake looked like testicles!  Oy!  I thought about it for a while and thought it was even too graphic for me.   

I played around with it for a while drawing it like a good solid ouroboros, a snake eating its own tail, and it was simply not right.  I didn’t scan the final version but it shows the snakes head pointing down but in a much less graphic way than the first attempt! 

I think the whole thing, the sleeeper and the awake lion, the two sides of the snake, the lemniscate, the tail and the head, the paw and the hand, are all marriages of opposites that we contain in ourselves. 

One of the ways I have been seeing this card is that it is the opposite of the Magician, where the Magician though was cloaked this one is uncloaked, it is revealed.  Revelation might be a good theme for this card.

What I find really odd is that this is the 8 of Wands.  I usually see Wands as a beginning and not an end.  Maybe that is the point.  Or maybe, it is the beginning and the end.  Or the beginning of the end.  Or the end of the beginning.  Maybe there is no beginning or end just a shift in consciousness.

Anyway, all of the cherubim are here, the Lion,  Eagle  (wings),Angel (sleeper), Bull (virile genitals, serpent).  Actually, the only thing which is obvious and active is the Lion, which perhaps is the point of it being Wands.  I thought maybe the Eagle was the sleeper, being consciousness, but one quick look at my other 8s tells me that the Angel, Water, is the sleeper – which means more to me than consciousness sleeping, it’s like precedence being given to a godlike agenda rather than an earthly type agenda.    It’s not just consciousness its the foundation that consciousness is built on. 

Looking at the 8 of Swords I realize that the Magician is only glimpsed from afar here, and perhaps that is all consciousness is able to grasp, just a glimpse of its own greatness.  The small birds though, are like an emissary of the eagle.

I wish I had more time to go into all of the stuff about this card or even organise it better!  But I do not. 

Hopefully I’ll have something more to show tonight.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

