9 of Wands sketch 1

9wandssketch1

There’s what I did last night.   I just traced my rough sketch onto my good paper then started rendering the tigers nose.   It’s slow going right now because I am trying to design the stripes just right so I am drawing and erasing, drawing and erasing.  I usually try to work that kind of thing out on the rough sketch but for some reason I felt like skipping it this time. 

There will be a few symbols in there.  The big stripes down the sides of his cheek are lightning bolts.  The ones next to that on the closer cheek are the I Ching symbol for Fire or Lightning.  On the woman’s arm will be the counterpart Thunder and together they make the hexagram ‘gnawing bite’. 

I really want the tiger to have a nice pattern of light and dark on its face, they get this beautiful butterfly like shape with the white over the eyes, the whisker pad area and the chin.  That reminds me – I am pretty sure the last time I used an I Ching symbol  was in the Fool, I believe it was Fire and Water on the dragon claws. 

The Thoth has a tiger in the Fool, biting the Fool’s leg.  Always back to the Thoth with these 9s. 

And so the tiger has grown some!  From an annoyance on the leg – of course Crowley would have a tiger whilst others have a yipping tame dog –  to an an incredibly powerful beast to be reckoned with.  It is like a growth from Intent to Free Will.  Its probably about perception and awareness – how big you feel the tiger.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9 of Wands sketch 1

  1. Ian says:

    It reminds me of Crowley-Harris’ Princess of Wands, but this time, the girl is a woman and is for serious – it isn’t (just) a game anymore.

    Also, I’d like to point out that while the Tiger is flashy (Lightning), the lasting impression is left by the Woman (Thunder).

    And both seem to say “come and get me” (a la Leonidas in 300).

    Love,
    Ian

  2. Tarotsmith says:

    Yes, you’re right! But the tiger in that card is being dragged by the tail, it is somewhat toothless and compliant. It’s like subduing your inner animal rather than harnessing its awesome and dangerous power. I found a good quote by Nietzsche I don’t think I published already:
    “Be careful lest in casting out your devils that you cast out the best thing that’s in you.”

    Another phrase that comes to mind is “Strength in Belief”.

Leave a Reply

