9 of Cups Finished, 9 of Swords Begin

I just realized I never put the finished painting up!

L9c

There he is!

Now on to the 9 of Swords!  I am really excited about this one, if a little scared.  I noticed, again, at the end of the 9 of Cups I was forgetting what it was about and I was getting flooded with information about the 9 of Swords.  Sheesh, can’t it wait the last day or two?  I’d be working on it right now except I got behind in housework again and I need to catch up before tonight. 

It takes me back, when I was little my Dad had a subscription to Omni magazine, which I loved.  There was a short story I still remember about a woman who plugged her self in to some cyber universe and then completely forgot about taking care of her body and her real life.  That would happen to me if I didn’t have a family and responsibilities to keep me grounded.

Hmmm, I just typed a bunch more but it disappeared. 

Here is what I plan to paint for the  of Swords…..hey, maybe if I describe it for you rather than draw it for you, you can see the wedding cake too, rather than just the biscuit it will be.    Like the 9 of Cups and the 9 of Disks it will have 2 towers (and like the 9 of wands too, but I think the tiger and woman are the towers themselves) this time they will take the shape of lighthouses, again black and white.  Off in the distance, or on the horizon, will be a giant tower that dwarfs the other two, I am picturing something like a glowing gold citadel, though I had a vision of it once luminescent like a pearl.

There will be a road or path or something similar leading up to it and a person riding a horse.

Pressure is the word I keep hearing.  This is supposed to be what is behind the veil of Death.  That’s a lot different than the traditional 9 of Swords isn’t it?  It is on the surface but I can see a connection.  I think of Swords as somewhat of a man made evolution, a place where the genius of your soul all of a sudden breaks free from the biology of your body and heritage and desires something disconnected from it, something that isn’t just survival and reproduction.  To me this card is the highest form of enlightenment, transcendence.  The poor person with the 9 swords sticking out of his back?  Maybe the swords are symbolic of rays of light.  Maybe  they are his soul escaping his mortal body.  Maybe it is the death of the exclusive perception of the physical universe.

Love and light and peace?  No.  There is a black and white tower. I see it as a chaotic system, where something begins in one place and then there are so incredibly many variations in which way it could go that it is like a crazy whip lashing all over the place.  The lighthouses, the black and white forces, things we love and things we avoid, things that kill us and draw us and make us happy, things that challenge us and sometimes force us with brute force, all of those energies and pressures direct us toward our eventual goal which is this city of Eternity.  For example, a deer.  It’s pressures are predation, starvation, challenges of it’s environment.  Those pressures shaped it into a perfect and beautiful creature perfectly attuned to its niche in the environment.  The same can be said about all things.  When the pressure changes, in a way, the species changes.   It could become ill or it could become domesticated.  What is the life’s goal of a dairy cow or a chicken? 

I am thinking a society or situation which relieves the pressures on a person can also make them domesticated, or turn them into a lap dog or a dancing bear.   No, struggle in life is good and healthy and brings out the best in us even if we have love and suffering in equal measure.  (The Wheel is next, 10, that is where you find yourself in the center of these forces)

Anyway, that is why the lighthouses are there, they guide you in.  Through suffering and pain, love and happiness, you are squeezed and directed so your chaos can become a star.

You know, after all of these years, yesterday I finally realized I did in fact find the teacher I requested so long ago.  I thought the request had been well, unanswered, now I know that the tarot was and is my teacher.  Never expected a non human.

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 9 of Cups Finished, 9 of Swords Begin

  1. Ian says:

    Hmm…

    OK, first, I love the finished card. I totally, TOTALLY relate to it, in all its senses (which has changed even the way I read the WS version).

    On the 9 of Swords, I wanted to ask: will there be something either isolating or connecting the big tower to the rest of the card? I think that should be an important element, its reachability [is that an actual word?]. Because, in my experience, understanding Eternity isn’t easy, it’s often painful and yet, once you do, everything else falls apart.

    (by the way, I think you confused WS’ 9 and 10 of Swords, since the latter is the guy on the floor with swords sticking out of his back; 9 is the person in bed, covering face with hands, probably crying in the middle of the night?)

    Love (and drumrolling),
    Ian

  2. Tarotsmyth says:

    Oh my gosh you are right! How strange, I can swear I had just recently stared at that card too, in contemplation of the differences. Now that I look the Thoth 9 of Swords isn’t the same one as my mental image either. And it isn’t the 10. Huh. Thanks.

    Regarding a connection…I really don’t know right now. The way I see it it is part of the overall landscape so the implication is that you could eventually reach it.

    Thank you Ian:)

  3. Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…

    – Bill Bartmann

Leave a Reply

