Bordering on Insanity

I’ve been trying real hard but I just can’t stomach a white border, or a black one, or a colored one for that matter.  I have tasted the forbidden fruit of borderlessness and now everything else is diminished in comparison!  Plus, I keep imagining the combination of any border with the card back and I don’t like it! 

Now, I don’t know what the limits will be on the final publication, but for now I should be able to manage a borderless handmade edition shouldn’t I ?    I am going to keep working towards that and see what happens. 

No time for chit chat!  Hasta!

Marie

This entry was posted in Tarot. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bordering on Insanity

  1. Minh says:

    I really love your artwork!!! Regarding the card titles, I think what you have right now competes too much with the artwork itself. They look great separately, but together the card looks too busy and it becomes difficult to concentrate on the card image which is what I really want to focus on. Simplicity is the way to go in this case! I happen to personally like having a white border because I think the overall look will be more refined and elegant. Just because you have a border on the front you do not need to have it on the back; moreover, I would advice against having the border on both sides.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I agree with Minh. I don’t think your cards need borders–I think borders would detract from them–and I think the titles already get in the way of the artwork and ‘dilute’ the impact of the art. The images speak for themselves.

  3. ironwing says:

    Hi Marie,
    The Celtic Wisdom and Buckland Romani Tarots are both borderless and extra-large, which makes the colors especially vivid. The only drawback appears to be some loss of the image when the corners are rounded.

    I prefer a small border (narrow white edge, with a thin black line around the image and the lettering below the image, not within it) but I am an obsessive control freak with my art. I can’t tell you what would be best for your deck, because your choices on borders, lettering, card size, etc. will be from your heart and will be part of the finished deck’s personality. That’s why I don’t like it when these matters are decided by the publishing company rather than the artist.

Leave a Reply

