Illuminated Looking

Switching gears a little again.  What do you think about this?  I was working on this before but never could get the font right.  Then while looking for fonts for the last title design I found this – it isn’t exactly what I was looking for but very close.    I did the illuminated roman numerals, I like them.

Marie

This entry was posted in Tarot. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Illuminated Looking

  1. Marieke says:

    Hi Marie,

    What a hard choice you have to make! I like the fond but I must say I really liked the cleanness of the picture of the bordered version. It’s a shame to put anything over the art work. Can’t wait for it to be finished.

    Best
    Marieke

  2. Ian says:

    I like this style – the banners fit and blend into the rest of the picture. It is a pity to cover part of your artwork, but this style gives a better overall impression.

    Not fond of the numerals, a bit hard to read (maybe they look clearer in print?).

    Love,
    Ian

    • Tarotsmyth says:

      Hi Marieke, good to hear from you:)
      It is a hard choice! A friend of mine (Paul) suggested a while back that I make smaller editions with different designs. That idea is getting more and more attractive as I go along.
      Marie

  3. Tarotsmyth says:

    Hi Ian:)
    I’m glad you like it. About covering the art, it looks like it does but it is a trick. What I did was add about an inch and a half to the bottom of the image, put in the banner and then copy parts of the painting down into the gaps – so it really isn’t covering anything at all.
    I’ll be printing some test cards soon to see how legible that font is.
    Marie

    • Ian says:

      Oooh! What a great trick! That leaves only one (if at all) objection.

      If I get to choose which one to get, I’ll take this model. The problem, as usual, is to afford it =Þ …

      Love,
      Ian

  4. Briar Rose says:

    Marie- I thought that’s what you did. Love the idea of adding the space and then putting in the banner. This is beautiful! I was worried the scroll and a gothic-like font would look cliche- but it does not at all. Lovely!

  5. Claes-Berend says:

    Well… i love it when the cards become higher and i love it when the images are filling the whole paper. I’m not convinced about the lettering, maybe you should make them by hand. I’m slowly getting used to the perkamentus-image, but still nog sold on that.

  6. Claes-Berend says:

    Well… i love it when the cards become higher and i love it when the images are filling the whole paper. I’m not convinced about the lettering, maybe you should make them by hand. I’m slowly getting used to the perkamentus-image, but still not sold on that.

  7. Tarotsmyth says:

    What is a perkamentus?

  8. Marieke says:

    Hi Marie,

    Perkamentus is parchmentcy, old type paper.

    To make a couple of different versions will be a lot of extra work for you! Choose the one that makes you happy.
    I’m glad I found your blog and see how things are going. Are you coming to the readers studio? Would love to catch up.

    Marieke

    • Anonymous says:

      It doesn’t look like I’m going to the Readers Studio this year, sadly. Maybe next year. I’d love to get over to BATS too.
      Marie

  9. Claes-Berend says:

    Perkamentus is the paper-roll on wich the name of the card is written. Don’t know the word in English, sorry.

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks Marieke and Claes-Berend, I have never heard that word in my life, now I know.
      I’ve been spending too much time on it so I’m putting it aside until I get all of the cards rescanned. Don’t be surprised if I change my mind a few more times. I still haven’t found that certain feeling I am looking for, and maybe never will.
      Marie

  10. Susan Schauer says:

    This is the best one yet! I think the font, numerals and style of the scroll in this latest effort beautifully and seamlessly sets off the deck’s sumptuously distinctive artwork. It’s lovely!

  11. Daniel says:

    Hi Marie,
    Personally I think the imagery is so striking in your designs that I would keep everything else to the bare minimum.
    I’m a fan of borderless decks, so I’d have the image fill the entire card face and have a small hand written title at the bottom with a small border around the text.
    (similar to your previous post: https://tarotsmyth.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/a-new-border/ )

    Beautiful work!

    Good luck,
    Daniel

Leave a Reply

