Ace of Disks R, Knight of Wands R, 4 of Wands

t500knightwands t500acedisksRt5004wands68

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Card 1 – Ace of Disks, reversed, Body

Card 2 – Knight of Wands, reversed, Adventurer

Card 3 – 4 of Wands, Commence

This is kind of neat, the first card I turned over, the Ace of Disks, is the last card I was coloring last night before I went to bed.  The first thing I thought in seeing this was “Back to the mines!” lol.  Work.  This is the Minotaur in the labyrinth and what you have to do is get all of your abilities together to work your way out of it and that’s where I am.  Not unusual, I think that’s a general condition of life! We are trying to learn and grow and figure out what the heck we are doing as we advance through the maze of life.

This is reversed so I must be feeling some kind of blockage or I am perceiving that I am not making any progress. And from the point of view of the Knight of Wands that would totally be true! When you have a fire lit its hard to sit still!

My keyword for the 4 of Wands is commence, I think of it as when you get that creative endeavor to finally start physically manifesting.  Hey I didn’t catch it until now but that’s a good combination of the Knight of Wands and the Ace of Disks.

Another thing with the Ace of Disks that I have trouble with is that it is well not just your body but the whole physical environment, physical reality. And physical reality has rules, it has physics.  Things don’t just magically appear, they are evolved and built.  That fire needs physical fuel – the burning tree in the 4 of Wands.  The Wand.

To commence the adventure you need fuel.  You need to build the labyrinth (tower?)

Could we see the labyrinth as the bottom floor of the Tower?  (wow this is all so reminiscent of the dream I had the other night)  Now, taking away all the negative meanings we usually associate with the Tower, ruin, destruction, etc.  (oh look there’s the lightning too, in the hand of the Knight of Wands, and now it is burning!)

An old Babylonian name for one tower is Etemenanki.  It means  the foundation of the temple of heaven and earth.  Isn’t that what some towers are?  A bridge between heaven and earth.   Think of them as a symbol for internal work.

I think I’ve gone on a bit of a tangent here, but I think it means that in order for me to do this work I want to do I also have to do the careful building required to make myself/my own life, its own temple of heaven and earth.  It requires fire as well as physical fuel and substance.

***

Check out my new Mary-el Sketchbook Tarot!

http://www.mary-el.com/sketchdeck.html

http://www.mary-el.com

This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ace of Disks R, Knight of Wands R, 4 of Wands

  1. sylvanmoon says:

    This thought popped into my head when I saw the Ace of Disks-reversed: “You are now leaving the Labyrinth…” I do believe the Knight of Wands set the 4 of Wands on fire!
    Also-what you said about the possibility of the Labyrinth being the floor (foundation) of the Tower brought to mind the Labyrinth in Chartres Cathedral…it is a very Tower-like structure with hidden caverns below it. As Above, not so Below within this glorious place.

  2. Marie White says:

    That’s great. I’m looking at pictures of the Chartres Cathedral now, gorgeous and meaning! It’s like building a tower of meanings for these cards:)

Leave a Reply

